73 ways to become a better writer

By: Alexandria Riedinger

Jul 28 2009

Tags: , , ,

Category: Writing

Leave a comment

Yes, this is repeating something, but it’s just so good, I want to share it. I am always looking for ways to make me a better writer. And though I wrote constantly in school (who hasn’t?) and built up my skills, I feel I’ve lost most of them. So here is me, flexing my ‘writing’ muscles as one professor always told me. Which reminds me I need to share that as well! Later.

According to Copyblogger, these things can make you a better writer, don’t worry, only my top 10:

  1. Become a blogger.
  2. Use self-imposed word limits.
  3. Accept all forms of criticism and learn to grow from it.
  4. Live with passion.
  5. Be open, curious, present, and engaged.
  6. Learn a new word a day.
  7. Challenge yourself: write in a crowded cafe, write on the toilet, write for 24 hours straight.
  8. Read, think, read, write, ponder, write – and read some more.
  9. Read your stuff aloud to anyone who can stand it – including the cat.
  10. Tell everyone: “I’m a writer.”

Take the time, read all 73 ways.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

