Why I want to become a WWOOFer

After a little self exploration and some great inspiration, from others as well as within, this is it. And there is no turning back. With only 2 weeks left at my job, a passion that has become unyielding, and anxiousness that is growing, I am ready to live out my own chosen Exile Lifestyle (courtesy of Colin) with a simple twist.

I am going to travel the world, writing about my experiences in giving back to our Earth, its’ soil and precious gifts, by working from small family farm to small family farm.

I have always had a passion for being close and connected to this planet we live on and I can think of no better way to intertwine my two passions. How you may ask?

With WWOOF, of course! Not familiar? WWOOF stands for World Wide Opportunities on Organic Farms and it’s a collection of ‘host’ farms around the world that give you shelter and fresh farmed food, in exchange for a few hours of work. Think small Caribbean farm in St. Croix…or wellness center in the mountains of Brazil.

And the best part is – I get to write about it! (Oh, and think of the pictures!) Really, the sweetest part is that I am able to work with my mother and our own take on connecting with our Earth and our organic and natural farmers, Local Choices of the Central Valley. For the next few months before my travels, I will be networking/farming/writing (who could even call that work!) with my mother Anna, building our local choices and my travel writing skills for when I hit the road as her ‘global respondent’. I’ll focus on bringing sustainable living all around the world, back to California’s only hyperlocal resource.

So that is my plan and like I said there is no looking back now. I really would love your feedback/advice/connections as I want to involve those who are passionate like I am about sustainable living. So feel free to comment!

12 comments on “Why I want to become a WWOOFer”

  1. You’ve taken a great idea to a “priceless” level…This is so awesome, words can’t express my feelings…Can’t wait to learn more.

  2. Thank you for being MY inspiration, you are amazing Ms.Alex!

  3. Added you on twitter – I’ll be following here too!

    David

  4. That’s amazing to hear. I’ll be sure to keep in touch on here and twitter.

  5. That is so awesome! Congrats, I think you do amazing things!

  6. So great to see your post! We also took off with “no looking back” – that was over two years ago! Now we’ve been around-the-world volunteering and will start our first WWOOF experience in Maui next month…hopefully we’ll see you out there at a lovely farm somewhere.

    Best of luck and we’re looking VERY forward to following your posts! 😉

    Lisa & Cheryl
    What Boundaries? Live Your Dream!
    Twitter @what_boundaries

  7. @Lisa & Cheryl: Thanks for checking it out, I love to meet others who are hitting the road and going against it all! I looked all over your site and am in awe of everything you’ve done! I would love to get together with you, Skype maybe, and chat more about it. You two just made my day : )

  8. I’m beginning a nomadic journey just like you! I checked out WWOOFER a few days ago and loved the idea. I’m definitely going to try it at some point.

    For now, I’m headed to South India in about 4 weeks to begin my journey has a nomad, living out of my backpack, blogging, and working online as a location independent professional.

    I’ve subscribed to your feed and followed you on Twitter. I’m looking forward to reading about your adventures! 🙂

  9. Hi Alex, this sounds like an amazing opportunity! I can’t wait to learn more. I just read this quote and thought of you: “You can have the life you want.”

  10. […] more time than I thought), I am still experiencing new things every day that keep me focused on my goals of being a travel writer and […]


Leave a Reply

