First day as a farmer

So here I am, I’ve moved back into my parent’s house in Central California and although it’s been 6 years since I’ve lived with them, I think it’s going to be fairly nice, really nice actually. Last time I lived here I had curfews, none this time, my social life was limited to where they would drive me, no longer the case, and I had to do whatever they told me to do, now I’m an adult and responsible for myself. Kudos to me. I used to be skeptical about those that had to move home, but now, I completely get it, if of course, you’re doing it for the right reasons.

My reason for moving home is to help our Local Choices and to practice, practice, practice my writing skills while learning about farming and permaculture. For the next six or seven months, I will be working on my family’s (soon to be) WWOOF host farm. We’ve laughed that I will be working for food and shelter like a traditional host farm. Ha, my permaculture expert/Local Choices partner/brilliant tech guy, Tyler and I look forward to our lunches already.

So what did I do on my first day of farming? I helped Tyler sift compost….yes, I played with a whole ton of recycled shit. Literally. But you know what….it was great. I won’t dare say I know what I’m doing, but the whole point is to learn – and I love learning. But there was something so pure about working with the soil and learning how everything really is a cycle. Yes, you learn it in school, the cycle of water, plants, nutrients, and how the soil recycles it all, but this time it is different. With your hands actually in the Earth, and your senses awake to the smell and movement of life, the experience will change your realities about the connection between it all.

First day – a success!

One comment on “First day as a farmer”

  1. Hey sweetie,

    I am so proud of you. You are following your dreams and that is what life is about. May God keep you safe and may life keep you happy.

    Your True Friend

    Randy Jones


Leave a Reply

