Are You A Writer?

“Sit down and put down everything that comes into your head, and then you’re a writer. But an author is one who can judge his own stuff’s worth, without pity, and destroy most of it.” -Sidonie-Gabrielle Colette

By this standard, I am a writer. I write everyday. You’ll hardly catch me without my little journal (which is now full from the year!) and a pen. Whenever I need to figure out how I really feel about something, when it doesn’t quite make sense in my head, I write it down. And it always comes out clearly.

But to be an author? What a feat that would be. I’ve recently met a few local authors from a panel I went to hosted by The Writing Loft, the only creative writing school in Northern California. It was eye-opening to hear their stories and hardships about publishing, both working with an agent or publisher, and without. Seeing them re-sparked that passion within me to write feverishly, day and night, to actually publish a book! It is a dream of mine to accomplish!

And I’m excited to say I had the pleasure to meet the Executive Director, Nora Profit while I was there, whom I’ve heard about before and had been anxious to meet. I told her of my (secretly growing) ideas to publish a book and she seemed interested in what I wanted to write about.

Growing up, I’ve started a handful of stories, but never finished them. I’d find myself going back and editing more than writing. It was a lot easier at the time. But now, I’m really ready to start down that road and take my writing further. That includes more (consistent) posts, more exploration of completing a novel, and actually putting into practice all the ideas I’ve had for my blog, as there have been many.

I need a bit more time to roll things around in my head, and of course write them down, but I will be letting you in on some exciting projects I will be starting soon. With MyAlexandriar, and with another blog I am currently working on. In the mean time, I’ll just continue to put everything that comes into my head down, everyday, and I hope you do too!

2 comments on “Are You A Writer?”

  1. I also write every day, but discarded most of it to create my book. It took ten years to finish, but “The Mandolin Case” made it to press this summer.

    Dr. B

    • Dr. B-

      Thanks for your comment and for verifying what I’ve learned about this process I’m about to embark on. Your book looks like a good one and I love that you also say – write what you know – it is such a simple concept, but so powerful. So thanks for stopping by and good luck with your writing!

      Alexandria


Leave a Reply

