The Rhythm of a Ceiling Fan

“I never know what I think about something until I read what I’ve written on it.”
– William Faulkner

I don’t know if you’re like me in this regard, but reading what I feel about something usually helps me see things more clearly. And I haven’t pushed having a journal all too much, I think, but I really feel everyone should have one. Especially for this reason. And I feel it’s my place to make sure my close friends have one at the least.  Although, if I had an endless supply of journals, I would give them to all!

But this quote ties into a conversation I had with the Senor last night about….can you guess….fans. Yes, the fans that spin round and round from your ceiling, bringing you a refreshing coolness. Or in my case, more cold air. That I don’t like. And I told him that, but he insisted that I need to see it in a different way, a new light, especially if that is what I’m encouraging my readers to do.

So, yes, I’m going to do it. I’m going to write a post about ceiling fans. Because a) I’m curious to know what I really think of them after writing about them, and b) I don’t like to give into him always being right. Although, here I am doing it, so what does that say?

I’ve always had this love/hate relationships with fans, and at the moment, it’s a hate relationship. It’s cold outside. So cold, the air hurt my lungs this morning while running and I had to pathetically walk home. And yes, you may say, Alexandria, you can’t complain, you live in California and don’t even know what cold is, but you know what, it’s cold to me.

Anyways, back to the fan. It’s actually interesting to think back to all the times I’ve laid on my bed staring at the stupid thing when deep in thought or emotion. I guess its’ spinning, always steady, always rhythmic has acted like a soothing lull over the years. I just realized it felt as if it had always been a steady constant in my world when it felt like everything else was spinning at that moment, not the fan.

Hmm, now that I write about them, I guess there is significance behind them. Maybe because there is a deeper emotional connection that is attached to them beyond their surface, those known cooling abilities. Now that I’ve written and read what I think about them, they’re not all that bad anymore. We’ll see what happens when I go home at give it another look…

Have you ever thought about fans this way? And how do you feel about them? Or am I the only one to think this deeply about a ceiling fan?

By the way, did you know that a ceiling fan is usually one of the first things a person notices upon entering a room?

 

Leave a Reply

