Coming Home

By: Alexandria Riedinger

Nov 29 2010

Tags: , , , , ,

Category: Life & Happenings

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/13
Focal Length:135mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/160 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 50D

“It is a strange thing to come home. While yet on the journey, you cannot at all realize how strange it will be.”
– Selma Lagerlof

I am home. And it feels great. This quote came to me this morning and I laughed because it is so true. It is a strange thing to come home. After spending another great holiday (and birthday) with my parents, I was but torn between anxiousness to come home and sadness to leave them. I’m sure we’ve all experienced this one time or another.

But it feels good to be home. I came home to Christmas decorations in an inviting warm house, and a hand-made advent calendar. It feels like a new season is definitely here. And I love the coming of a new season, because it brings with it this optimism of change. I always have.

This year it signals more change for me, as all of the seasons most of this year have. Have you ever had a year, where with each season, your life drastically changes? This seems to be my year. In spring, I left Visalia, a steady 9-5 job and a long-term relationship that had reached its breadth. In summer, I left my parent’s house, married the Senor of my dreams and moved to Chico. In fall, challenges came and I learned how to face adversity by asking the hardest questions of myself. And here is winter, another new start for me. A start of a new career possibly that will help propel my writing to where I want it to be. It’s still too soon to tell what will come of it, but know that my hopes are high!

And did I mention, it feels great to be home.

Leave a Reply

