When You Dare to Dream

“What is magical is when someone dares to dream-when someone has the courage to think new thoughts, set goals that are presently out of {her} immediate reach, and possess the audacity to believe that they will come to pass.” A quote from the book, Infinite Possibilities

I dare you to dream like this.

I dare you to have the courage to think new thoughts. To set goals that are presently out of your reach. And to have the audacity to believe in them. Too often, we don’t even dream. Did you hear me?! We don’t dream! We even don’t even know how remarkable life is when one dreams and pursues it. When one comes alive because of it.

What if you made the decision to pursue your dreams. Right Now.

What if you decided today, right now, here with me, that you wanted to {insert your dream here} and were going to pursue it with all you are. What would happen? How would you feel? Alive? Inspired? Scared beyond belief?! BUT, there’s a beautiful thing to deciding to do this. Because you’re next breath…which I’m sure is a long, deep one, is the first one of the rest of your life.

A life of exhilaration, of challenges, of successes, and of failures.

This has been something I’ve gone through this year. And I am so thankful for having the courage to pursue my dreams of being a writer. But I have to admit to you, I didn’t push myself as much as I should have. And I realized that it takes work to keep yourself motivated and in sight of that dream when life around you tempts to distract you.

Although I’ve given in to those distractions, yesterday I found that feeling again. I came alive again. It was like discovering my dream and making the decision to pursue it all over again. And I took that first breath of the rest of my life and it felt incredible!

I realized I couldn’t afford to not pursue my dreams.

A blessing came in disguise for me that made me realize this. Yesterday I was supposed to start my new job with a creative writing school here called The Writing Loft. I had been looking forward to the experience I was going to gain for my writing and furthering my marketing skills. It was a marketing job. A 10-5er. And although it was for something I’m passionate about-writing-I wasn’t completely loving the idea of going back to an office. Most of my past has been spent in the office, working jobs I found interesting, but they never made me fully come alive. And this year, I made the choice to break away from that.

And after knowing what it felt like to pursue the thing I loved the most, going back to anything else just wouldn’t be enough. So when I was told that they were not going to hire me, I was a bit relieved. Don’t get me wrong, they would have been great to work with and I would have learned plenty. But my heart would not have been fully in it.

Ask yourself, is your heart fully into whatever you are doing? Are you courageous enough to make the decision to go after your dreams? I believe you are. So come with me, going forth again, because as our great Mark Twain said…

“Twenty years from now, you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”

Leave a Reply

