Composting An Old Life

“Truth is the strong compost in which beauty may sometimes germinate.” – Christopher Morley

As a year of change has come to an end, there is no better time to take all that has been learned and recycle it to make this new year, a better one.

It’s time to start composting.

While I had originally begun to write this post about composting for your garden, I discovered a correlation between this and composting for your life.

Composting lessons learned, knowledge gained, while sifting through the many trials and errors that have accompanied this past year. Like you’ve collected from the waste in your kitchen what was usable, you can collect what you’ve learned from this past year.

Because even if you’ve been through (or even created, c’mon, admit it) a lot of garbage this past year, there is always something you can learn and take away from it. Like composting for your garden, you take this and use it to build a stronger foundation for the next year’s harvest. Or your next year of life.

“Compost is the single most important supplement you can give your garden soil.” EarthEasy.com

So why not apply this to our lives as well. This is our time to sift through the waste to find that which can help make us stronger. That is what I’ve been doing these past two weeks while on the road. Whenever I had a moment to myself, I’ve reflected on not only my year, but my life as well. Looking for that which I can take away from the waste and recycle to help build a stronger me for next year.

Now, I don’t believe in making resolutions, but I do believe in the cycle of life around us. And it seems no more evident than in the cycle of composting. I believe it to be more beneficial to reflect and grow on the inside, than to make hollow goals on the outside. So while I will be doing some mental sifting, I hope you do to. And when I get home from my travels, I will also start composting kitchen waste at my house for my garden.

If you’re ready to start with me, here is a great resource on composting from EarthEasy.com for knowing more about it and includes a list of things you can compost in your home.

2 comments on “Composting An Old Life”

  1. Love this post! I don’t believe in resolutions either, but it is nice to have a point in time each year designated for reflection, evaluation, and personal growth.

  2. […] MyAlexandriar’s Wisdom Composting An Old Life […]


Leave a Reply

