#Trust30 Challenge: Wholly Strange & New

By: Alexandria Riedinger

Jun 16 2011

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Life & Happenings

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:3.85mm
ISO:64
Shutter:1/346 sec
Camera:iPhone 3GS

When good is near you, when you have life in yourself, it is not by any known or accustomed way; you shall not discern the foot-prints of any other; you shall not see the face of man; you shall not hear any name;—— the way, the thought, the good, shall be wholly strange and new. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Can you remember a moment in your life when you had life in yourself and it was wholly strange and new? Can you remember the moment when you stopped walking a path of someone else, and started cutting your own?

Write about that moment. And if you haven’t experienced it yet, let the miracle play out in your mind’s eye and write about that moment in your future. (Author: Bridget Pilloud)

To My Alexandriar:

I remember the many small events leading up to the moment that I felt alive. It was over a year ago and I had finally made the decision to follow my dreams of being a writer and traveling the world. And it all came together when I received my first journal as a Christmas gift. Every day that I wrote in the journal made me stronger and made my desires and ambitions stronger to get where I wanted to be. Yet, it was also as if I was coming to know myself for the first time. I had no idea where I would take myself, but I trusted that I would get to where I needed to be.

I quit my job and left a life I felt wasn’t true to me. Once I cut this own path and said, I’m not going to work my life away only to gain more things, I’m not going to miss my life sitting in an office every day, I’m not going to pretend I’m someone to fit in with the people around me…something funny happened.

I began to see myself breaking away from the norm and every time I tried to relate this to people surrounding me, I received looks of bewilderment. No one could fathom why I would want to quit my good job, leave my good life and travel the world into the unknown. And the further I went carving my own path, the less I yearned for what I had left behind. And the easier it became to let it go, so that I could move forward stronger.

Leave a Reply

