A Grateful Tree

By: Alexandria Riedinger

Aug 11 2011

Tags: , , , , ,

Category: Life & Happenings

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:3.85mm
ISO:64
Shutter:1/446 sec
Camera:iPhone 3GS

“We can only be said to be alive in those moments when our hearts are conscious of our treasures.” -Thornton Wilder

Hand in hand, el Senor and I took a leisurely walk into downtown last week to run some errands when we came upon this tree. Normally, this tree blends into the background as we bustle by it, but this morning, it stood there with a presence that couldn’t be ignored. The small, beige tags flipping in the wind caught my eye and when I walked closer I noticed there were words scribbled on them. Along with a reused plastic container that held blank tags and pencils was a sign that read, “Gratitude Tree.”

Standing there in awe reading the many things people were grateful for, I smiled sweetly to myself. It was a moment where I felt alive and completely conscious of the rare beauty of what was before me. I also felt a feeling of pure gratitude for the person or persons who did this. They gave me a moment of truth to my own heart’s consciousness. There’s a sweetness of something so simple that can free people from their everyday routines. To take a minute from our day and express what we are grateful for, is an incredibly powerful thing.

This was one of those rare times where something so simple, left such a strong impression.  Wouldn’t it be great if this happened more often for all of us?

If you came across this tree, and pulled out a tag, what would you write on it? What would be your addition to the Grateful Tree and to those who may read your tag?

If you’re curious what I wrote…my tag simply said LOVE.

Leave a Reply

